Stock exchange release April 20, 2011 02:30 PM EEST

Metso issues a positive profit warning

Metso Corporation's stock exchange release on April 20, 2011 at 2:30 p.m. local time

Based on a favorable development in the market environment and order intake,
Metso changes its estimate on the 2011 financial performance.

Metso estimates that company's net sales in 2011 will grow about 15 percent
compared to 2010 and profitability (EBITA margin before non-recurring items)
will improve.

Metso's previous guidance issued on February 3, 2011 was:
Based on the development in 2010 and assuming that the gradual recovery of the
global economy will continue, we estimate that our net sales in 2011 will grow
over 10 percent compared to 2010 and EBITA before non-recurring items will
improve.

As previously announced Metso's Interim Review for January - March 2011 will be
published on Thursday, April 28, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m. Finnish time/EEST (1:30
p.m. BST, 2:30 p.m. CEST, 8:30 a.m. EST)


Metso is a global supplier of sustainable technology and services for mining,
construction, power generation, automation, recycling and the pulp and paper
industries. We have about 28,500 employees in more than 50 countries.
www.metso.com


Further information, please contact:
Johanna Henttonen, Vice President, Investor Relations, Metso Corporation, tel.
+358 20 484 3253


Metso Corporation

Harri Nikunen
CFO

Johanna Henttonen
Vice President, Investor Relations

Distribution:
NASDAQ OMX Helsinki Ltd
Media
www.metso.com